SLAITO - Annual General Meeting 2019

Media Release : October 1st, 2019

Mr. Maahen Kariyawan elected for the second time as the President of the Sri Lanka Association of Inbound Tour Operators (SLAITO)

Mr. Maahen Kariyawasan the Managing Director of Andrew the Travel Company (Pvt) Ltd was elected for the second time as the President of the Sri Lanka Association of Inbound Tour Operators (SLAITO).

He was elected for the post, during the 39thAnnual General Meeting of SLAITO, which was held on Friday, the 6th of September 2019 at the Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo.

Apart from Mr. Kariyawasan’s election as President for the year 2019/2020 period, Mr. Thilak Weerasinghe, Chairman of LSR (Pvt) Ltd. and Ms. Gayangi Wirasinha, MD of Abercrombie & Kent Sri Lanka (Pvt) Ltd. was elected as Vice Presidents.  Mr. Nishad Wijetunga, MD of Wayfarers elected as the Hony. Secretary and Ms. Bobby Jorden Hansen, MD of Columbus Tours (Pvt) Ltd was elected as the Hony. Treasurer and Mr. Harith Perera of Hemas Holdings PLC as the Immediate Past President.

In the meantime, the following persons were elected to the Executive Committee of SLAITO for the period of 2019/2020 and those are Mr. Nalin Jayasundera, MD of Aitken Spence Travels, Ms. Nushani Ediriweera, Director Sales & Marketing of Ceylon Tours Ltd, Mr. Chandra Wickramasinghe, Chairman of Connaissance De Ceylan, Ms. Paddy Paul, MD of Golden Isle Travels (Pvt) Ltd., Mr. Rohan Abeywickrema, MD of Hawn Travels (Pvt) Ltd., Mr. Amith Sumanapala, CEO of Hayleys Tours (Pvt) Ltd., Mr. Nalin Malwenna, MD of House of Travels & Tourism (Pvt) Ltd., Ms. Shiromal Cooray, Chairperson of Jetwing Travels (Pvt) Ltd., Mr. Devindre Senaratne, MD of JourneyScapes (Pvt) Ltd., Mr. Chaminda Dias, MD of Luxe Asia (Pvt) Ltd., Mr. Nilmin Nanayakkara, MD of NKAR Travels & Tours (Pvt) Ltd., Mr. Charith De Alwis, GM of Tangerine Tours (Pvt) Ltd., and Mr. Nalaka Amaratunga, CEO of Walkers Tours Ltd.

The Sri Lanka Association of Inbound Tour Operators (SLAITO) was formally known as Association of Group Tour Agents (AGTA) and was established in 1975.  In 2002, AGTA was reconstituted as SLAITO.

SLAITO is recognized as the APEX body for inbound tourism and the membership handles 90% of all inbound tourists in the organized tourism sector.

SLAITO plays an integral role in all important private sector decision-making forums and is affiliated to the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce.

At present the Sri Lanka Association of Inbound Tour Operators has a membership of 250.

Copyright © Columbus Tours (Pvt) Ltd 2019. All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy

Subscribe To Our Newsletters

Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news and special offers!